JSW Group chairman Sajjan Jindal wins EY entrepreneur of the year award 2022 – Times of India

Photo of author

By Amit

NEW DELHI: Chairman and managing director of JSW Group Sajjan Jindal on Thursday won the EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2022.
Jindal will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) to be held at Monte Carlo in June 2023.
The 7-member jury led by K V Kamath, former chairman of ICICI Bank, selected Sajjan Jindal as the EOY 2022 winner for his exceptional entrepreneurial journey in scaling the global conglomerate with presence in steel, cement, infrastructure, energy, and paints to revenues of$22 billion, globally employing over 40,000 people.
Over the years, Jindal has created a track record of executing large capital-intensive, technically complex, and state-of-the-art steel manufacturing facilities on principles of cost efficiency and operational excellence. He is now making a fast transition to renewable energy through acquisitions as also decarbonizing the value chain.
Earning the sobriquet of ‘Man of Steel’, Sajjan Jindal was the first representative from India to serve as the chairman of the World Steel Association.
Union minister for housing and urban affairs and minister for petroleum and natural gas, Hardeep Puri was the chief guest of the event.
Addressing the event, Hardeep Singh Puri said: “As India moves forward on its path to becoming a $5 trillion economy by 2025, entrepreneurs will play an integral role in fueling economic growth and contributing to nation-building efforts. It was inspiring to note the impactful stories of the EOY Awards winners, who are contributing tremendously to India’s growth by creating value, generating employment for almost 80,000 people and are increasingly embedding sustainability in their businesses.”
India’s G20 sherpa and former Niti Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant presented the special jury award to Deepak Bagla, managing director and CEO of Invest India, for his visionary work to attract and facilitate unprecedented foreign investments into the country.
K P Singh, chairman emeritus of DLF Group was felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his pioneering work in architecting the real-estate landscape of the country. His contributions to the wider community and nation-building have won him numerous international and national awards including the Padma Bhushan in 2010.
Awards were also announced for nine other categories with the winners representing both mature industries and young entrepreneurs from startups.
Here’s the list of winners:
Start-up: Mahesh Pratapneni, Co-Founder and Group CEO, MedGenome
Financial Services: V. Vaidyanathan, MD and CEO, IDFC First Bank Ltd
Energy, Real Estate & Infrastructure: Irfan Razack, Chairman and MD, Prestige Group
Manufacturing: Pradeep Kheruka, Executive Chairman, Borosil Group
Services: Pawan Jain, Chairman and Rubal Jain, MD, Safexpress Pvt Ltd
Consumer Products & Retail: Ravi Modi, Chairman and MD, Vedant Fashions Ltd (Manyavar)
Life Sciences & Healthcare: Samina Hamied, Executive Vice Chairperson, Cipla Ltd
Business Transformation: Vivek Kumar Jain, Chairman and MD, Gujarat Fluorochemicals Ltd
Congratulating the winners, Rajiv Memani, chairman and CEO, EY India said: “My heartiest congratulations to our 2022 EOY winners. Each one of them is an epitome of business excellence and a great source of inspiration for the future generation of entrepreneurs. As India progresses into its Amrit Kaal, it is inspiring to see the immeasurable contributions they are making to India’s transformation and economic progress.”
The winners were selected by an eminent seven-member independent Jury Panel led by KV Kamath, former chairman, ICICI Bank. Other jury members comprised of Harsh Mariwala, founder and chairman, Marico, Anjali Bansal, founder and chairperson, Avaana Capital; Amit Dixit, Asia head private equity, Blackstone; Dr Anish Shah, managing director and chief executive officer, Mahindra Group; Sunish Sharma, managing partner and founder, Kedaara Capital, Ireena Vittal, independent director on boards of Godrej Consumer Products, HDFC, Compass Plc and Wipro.
Farokh Balsara, partner and EOY India Program Leader also congratulated the winners and said: “Heartiest congratulations to our 2022 Winners who have demonstrated immense passion and singular focus in achieving scale and profitability in their businesses. While some have disrupted and created new market categories where none existed, others have taken bold steps to build businesses that have stood the test of time and are today market leaders. They reflect the true Indian entrepreneurial ingenuity.”

Source link

Leave a Comment